Evansville Water: The Movie: Part 1

Audio/Video Evansville Schools Meetings

Seek the High Ground

Loading...

Search This Blog

Wisconsin Wit

Wednesday, January 04, 2012

Mailbag: Occupy the Corporations Writes:



Only a few weeks remain until the two-year anniversary of the Supreme Court’s disastrous Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission ruling.

If you haven’t already, sign up today to host or attend an action on or around January 21.

Want to plan an action but aren’t sure how to start?

This Thursday, January 5, we will be joining other organizations to host a training by phone for people interested in planning or helping to plan an event around the anniversary. To attend, join us at 8 p.m. Eastern (7 p.m. Central, 6 p.m. Mountain, 5 p.m. Pacific, 4 p.m. Alaska, 3 p.m. Hawaii) by calling (209) 647-1600 and entering 458936# when prompted for a passcode.

An action can be as simple as holding signs and gathering petition signatures in front of your local branch of Bank of America or Chevron, two of the mega-corporations masquerading as people and holding outsized influence over our politicians.

Or you can conduct a citizens’ “investigation” to expose the true nature of the supposed “persons” that claim to have a constitutional right to buy greater access to our elected officials than us. Check out Occupy the Corporations for more tips, ideas and resources.

Sign up now to help “Occupy the Corporations: Expose the Impostors!” on January 21, and build the movement for a constitutional amendment to return democracy to the people.

More than 100 actions are planned around the country already!

People from coast to coast — and more than 40 national and statewide organizations including Greenpeace, 350.org, People For the American Way, Move to Amend, California Church IMPACT, and others — will take action demanding a constitutional amendment to end corporate dominance over elections and restore our democracy to We the People.

Regardless of what form your action takes, you’ll be part of a movement that has been gaining momentum at a remarkable pace, from the grassroots to Congress.

Now it’s time to step out into the national spotlight and make it clear that the American people strongly and overwhelmingly oppose the auctioning of our democracy.

Sign up now to attend or host an action on January 21.

Send a loud and clear message that the days of money and entrenched power deciding our elections are near an end!

We look forward to joining you on January 21. Let’s make this one “anniversary party” that corporate America won’t soon forget!

Thanks for all you do,

Jonah Minkoff-Zern, Aquene Freechild and Mark Hays
Democracy Is For People Campaign, Public Citizen

No comments:

Post a Comment